TTT : Authors with the most books on my bookshelf

1_1

Even Simon Cowell couldn’t resist.

Hosted by : The Broke & The Bookish

This week, it’s all about authors !

Sometimes, you love an author so much that you just have to buy everything they could ever write, sometimes you end up with tons of books from the same author without really understanding why, and other times it just so happens that a series you’re reading is just very loooong. No matter which case, some authors definitely take up more space on my bookshelf, and it was really fun to make this little tally. It’s like all these authors are competing for Britain’s (or any country of your choosing) Got Talent, only it’d be more like My Bookshelf’s Got Some Pretty Cool Authors. First prize is my endless love and gratitude.

Here are the results !

5th PLACE
IT WAS A GOOD EFFORT, IT DOESN’T MEAN THAT I DON’T LOVE YOU !

With 3 books each :

divergent-trilogyVeronica Roth with the Divergent series. All the dystopias are at least 3 books long, it’s like there’s a secret code somewhere which explains the rules to follow in order to write a successful series. I know there are more books, but I’m not particularly interested in reading them, so 3 is the final score.

hunger_games_trilogySuzanne Collins with the Hunger Games series. I consider these books my introduction to YA Dystopias. I’ve searched and searched for more books that could make me feel what these three books have managed to put me through, without much success. Nothing really compares.

TheRavenCyclebyMaggieStiefvater_zpsc4df7303Maggie Stiefvater (for now, once the fourth book is released she’ll step up a bit) with the Raven Cycle series. It had been a long time since a book had managed to completely take over my life, so congratulations Maggie, and thank you.

………………….. 41R7fzI1qVL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_ 51uh8brX+AL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_ 81-bB2Zp8vL

Victor Hugo with Les Misérables, Les Contemplations (lots and lots of poems), and Hernani (a play). And those are only the tip of the iceberg. I’ll get there someday.

 

4th PLACE
ONE STEP FROM THE PODIUM. DISHONOR ON YOU, DISHONOR ON YOUR cow

With 4 books each :

the-maze-runnerJames Dashner with the Maze Runner trilogy and its prequel The Kill Order. Once again, there are a lot of companion pieces, that I’m not particularly interested in. I might read the Fever Code, though.

………………..Look at her, staring into your soul.6482837

Lauren Oliver with the Delirium trilogy and Before I Fall. I could have read the companion novels. I mean, I love this series enough, but I finished the trilogy a while ago, and the enthusiasm, as well as the motivation, isn’t really there.

 

3rd PLACE
SOMEONE DOESN’T DESERVE TO BE HERE *keep staring until YOU GET it*

With 5 books each :

……. katherines alaskapapertowns tfios willgraysonx2

John Green with An Abundance Of Katherines, Looking For Alaska, Paper Towns, The Fault In Our Stars, and Will Grayson, Will Grayson. Which, actually, makes it more like 4 and a half, but who cares. I like him as an author, and I’ll keep buying most of his books.

tmiCassandra Clare with 5 books from the Mortal Instruments series. I couldn’t be bothered to buy the last one, not to mention the fact that its cover still makes me cringe. As much as I like the universe, Clary and Jace just ruined it for me.

 

2ND PLACE
I’M SO PROUD OF YOU

With 7 books :

51WSPDUy7KL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_George R.R. Martin with A Song Of Ice And Fire series, all 5 tomes split into 7 books. *300 years later* “I’m still waiting for the Winds Of Winter“.

 

1st PLACE
COULD IT BE ANYONE ELSE ?

With a grand total of 11 books :

harry-potter-books…………….51xzrfq0UPL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_ Beedlethebardreal  Quidditchthroughtheages The_Casual_Vacancy

J.K Rowling with the Harry Potter series (7 books), and its companion books Quidditch Through The Ages, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, and the Tales of Beedle The Bard, and The Casual Vacancy. I feel like I won’t read more books from her and it breaks my heart, but I don’t want to force myself to read her detective novels, no matter how great people say they are.

15 thoughts on “TTT : Authors with the most books on my bookshelf

  1. Kaja says:

    J.K. Rowling would top my list, too, especially if I counted re-reads. But otherwise, the list would be full of romance authors, their books are so short (compared to Martin, for example) and they’re SO EASY to binge-read.
    I never finished Clare’s series, either. I did read that Clockwork trilogy very fast but didn’t like it too much – I don’t think I’ll be reading any of her books in the future. It was all so stretched-out and angsty!

    Like

  2. proxyfish says:

    J.K. Rowling entered my top ten list too, though didn’t quite make it to the top. I have some of Clare’s work but I haven’t even started it…and yes the covers are terribly off-putting 😛

    Like

  3. Dawnie says:

    J K Rowling is on my list as well. And i haven’t read her crime books yet either. I plan to, but haven’t gotten to them yet. But you are ahead of me, since i have not yet read the Hogwarts Library books.
    Great list 🙂

    Like

  4. Aj @ Read All The Things! says:

    Great list. John Green, Cassandra Clare, and JK Rowling made my list too. I also didn’t finish the Mortal Instruments series. The first few books were okay, but the last few were terrible. I’m not a fan of Clary or Jace, but I like some of the other characters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

