TTT : Fairytale & Mythology retellings on my TBR

1_1

“Some day you will be old enough to start reading fairy tales again.” CS Lewis

Hosted by : The Broke & The Bookish

I love fairytales, mythologies and folklore, so I’m just delighted with this week’s theme !

I don’t know if it’s nostalgia, or because there always something to take out of those stories, but it always feels good to come back to fairytales. I’m still doing Disney marathons, I still have in mind the first time I read the story of Bluebeard (I didn’t know I would end up scarred for life) and, no matter what, I’ll keep watching Once Upon A Time.

So, here is my list of fairytale-inspired books that I want to read.

.

BREAKING WITH THE TRADITION

. . . . . 11235712 . . 23301545 . . 22544764

The Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer : What I understand from the summaries is that these books are about the kind of princesses I would have loved to start with (even as a kid, and although I couldn’t quite articulate why at the time, I hated Snow White, Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty) : kickass cyborg Cinderella, kickass cyborg mechanic Little Red, and kickass who-cares-about-social-norms Snow White. Count me in.

The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman : It’s Sleeping Beauty, just gayer. As we’re still waiting for a queer Disney prince and/or princess, this is a good start.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik : We all have this image of a dragon keeping guard while the princess is locked in her tower, and I think this one breaks with that theme.

 .

INSPIRED BY FAIRYTALES & FOLKLORE

16096824 23012481 24313673 18798983

A Court Of Thorns & Roses by Sarah J. Maas : From what I understand, it can be seen as a mix between Little Red Riding Hood, what with the wolf and the main character being a huntress, and Beauty and the Beast.

The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan : Inspired by Celtic folklore, the main character sends the souls of the dead to their final resting place.

Golden by Melinda Michaels : The main character is unknowingly the daughter of a fairytale character. Very Once Upon A Time, I think.

The Wrath & The Dawn by Renée Andieh : A retelling of A Thousand And One Nights, and Scheherazade’s story.

 .

ANOTHER SIDE TO THE STORY

. . . . . 43545 . . 23550979 . . american gods

The Once And Future King by T.H. White : It’s sitting there, in my flat, I couldn’t not mention it. Another story about King Arthur, his knights, and his faithful warlock.

Peter, The Untold True Story by Christopher Mechling : Peter Pan’s origins story.

American Gods by Neil Gaiman : I’m starting it now, and from what I can tell, it’s all about a new vision of the Gods and Goddesses we heard so much about.

 .

BONUS ROUND !

(I couldn’t resist) My two favourite musical retellings (I could have gone with Disney, but I made an effort) : Wicked, a sort prequel to Dorothy’s adventures in Oz and focusing on the Wicked Witch of the West ; and Into The Woods, the musical that fucks with your childhood.

reddividerI’m definitely in search of more Mythology (especially Greek, Norse or Celtic mythology) adaptations, so if you have some recs (but please, nothing too romancy), I’m all ears !

 

24 thoughts on “TTT : Fairytale & Mythology retellings on my TBR

  1. Kaja says:

    Ah, I really liked Uprooted, it’s such an original tale. The Grace Keepers has a gorgeous cover, I haven’t heard of it yet but now I want to check it out (I always judge the book by its cover, sadly).
    Have you read Margaret Atwood’s The Penelopiad? That’s the only Greek-inspired retelling I can think of (it’s the Odyssey from Penelope’s point of view).
    My TTT is here: http://ofdragonsandhearts.com/?p=2414

    Like

    • Marina | BookPoisoning says:

      I’m always unapologetically judging books by their covers, I’m on the side that thinks there’s nothing wrong with that, because first impression matters ! And I hadn’t heard about The Penelopiad, so I’m definitely checking this out.

      Like

  2. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    I ADORE THE WRATH AND THE DAWN!! *flails forever* And I want to read American Gods someday because NEIL GAIMAN. I adore his books (well, mostly his kids books, but I’ve read a few of his adult ones and sooo muuuuch love. xD)
    Here’s my TTT!

    Like

  3. Libby @ Through the Wardrobe says:

    Wicked is my absolute favourite musical so I’m glad you’ve mentioned it (I forgot to on my TTT!) – seen it 4 times and would HAPPILY go again! I really didn’t enjoy the book though… if you ever read it I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

    Like

  4. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    Golden looks to be quite good, I really love the OUAT tv show despite some rather absurd plot points. I think you’ll have a lot of fun with The Wrath and The Dawn and ACOTAR, both are very romantic and intense 😀

    Like

      • aentee @ read at midnight says:

        I know right, but I can’t look away, plus I still ship Snow White/Charming til the end of time.

        ACOTAR starts slowwww but it has a very good last third 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Dawnie says:

    I loved how you separated the books into the different categories.
    And for ACOTAR i have to say that don’t expect a kick-ass huntress. Because she is not. She hunts, and if she is lucky she manages to get something, nothing to crazy. Still fantastically written story overall and worth a read. But very heavily leaned on the Beauty and Beast Disney version. 🙂
    Golden sounds interesting if it is done well. I will have to look into that. Even though i was not a huge fan of OUAT because it was just too much for me after a while with all that drama. But Hook though in that series… have to give them points for that one and they kept me going for a while simple because of him and the chemistry between him and Emma.
    Fantastic list 🙂

    Like

  6. Jade @ Bedtime Bookworm says:

    I hadn’t heard of The Gracekeeper and Golden – they sound interesting! Peter too, I’m a sucker for Peter Pan.

    Like

Leave a Reply

