Review : Pride & Prejudice

1885Title : Pride & Prejudice
Author : Jane Austen
Published : 1813 (first edition)

add-to-goodreads-button

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”
So begins Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s witty comedy of manners–one of the most popular novels of all time–that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues.

Rating :

300rating4cookies

TAKE THESE FEELINGS AWAY FROM ME, I’M A PILE OF GOO ON THE FLOOR

615

“In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”

squeal

If my reaction had to be summed up, this is it.

And you know, I was so upset when I first watched the BBC series, because I did fall for Mr Darcy, but I also sort of attributed it to the fact that he was played by Colin Firth (my love !). Well, turns out book!Darcy has absolutely the same effect. And I’m even more upset now : I’m such a girl, I’m so predictable, why is this happening to me too ?! But, at the end of the day, I’m still smiling like an idiot, so it can’t be that bad, right ?

It did took me a little while to really get into the story, because I’m really not used to writing styles so pompous, at least pompous writing style in English – which is completely different from French pompousness, seriously so many commas, it’s like I’m the one who wrote it ! – but once I was over it, it was much easier to enjoy the story.

I’m such a sucker for slow-burn romance and desperate pining. I mean, I already knew that, of course, but I was there all the way. The fact that I knew they’d end up together really didn’t take anything away from the experience. And they’re just to fucking cute, they made the ice around my heart completely melt.

happy sigh

Keep going with the tension, I’ll never get enough.

I can’t review a classic. How are you even supposed to review a Classic, it hasn’t earned that place for nothing ? How can anything I say be even relevant ? No, I’ll just concentrate on the absolute emotional chaos that this book turned me into.

The ending was too quick though. What about the wedding ? I wanted that 27 Dresses moment when Darcy sees Elizabeth walking down the aisle and looks more enamoured than ever. I needed a moment like that, okay ?!

I’d also like to say that, although he gets overshadowed by Mr Darcy, Mr Bingley should get his fair share of fangirlishness. He’s such a sweetheart, how can you guys be so cruel as to completely forget about him ?!

I’m a mess. I’ll just have to watch the BBC series every day for the rest of my life !

And before I go, let’s all admire the beauty that is Colin Firth, looking all flustered, in a wet shirt.

Yes, very good.

Yes, very good.

reddivider

3 thoughts on “Review : Pride & Prejudice

  1. Kaja says:

    This is such a classic. I agree, the ending is a bit abrupt and I’d love to hear more about their life after the wedding but perhaps it’s best to leave Lizzy and Darcy be while they’re still blissfully happy, no? 🙂
    I always thought Bingley was too easily influenced by other people (namely his sisters!!) but he’s such a sweetheart I can’t really hold it against him.

    Like

    • Marina | BookPoisoning says:

      He is terribly easily influenced but he PINED for so long !! Pining gets me everytime. It’s only thing I want when I read about fictional relationships. And like, imagine Elizabeth’s and Darcy’s first fight as married couple, I need this ! He’d be sulking like a child in one of his many rooms, and she would probably just walk out to get some fresh air and calm down.

      Like

      • Kaja says:

        And then they’d kiss and make up? 😉 Yeah, I get it though, I often wish we’d see more of the “long run” romances that have withstood the test of time and the mundane everyday life and where the couple is still in love after that first glow where they just want to jump each others’ bones!
        I’m not too impressed with pining, myself, I prefer the active ones 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

