There won’t be a child in our world who doesn’t know his name

Thank you

I saw this on Never-Anyone-Else and thought “What better day to do this tag than today ?” I wanted to do something to celebrate JK Rowling’s and Harry’s birthday and there it is.

So, here we go. Happy 35th birthday, Harry Potter !

1. Favourite book ?

poaIt’s my favourite for several reasons, the first of which is because we’re finally introduced to the Marauders. There begins my endless torture : collecting everything detail I can get my hands on about them. If there is one thing I crave, it’s a Harry Potter prequel focusing on James, Sirius, Remus, Peter and Lily (and Snape, but who cares about him anyway ?). I don’t need a play about Harry’s childhood, I don’t need a Newt Scamander movie (although I welcome them with open arms. Let’s be real, we’re so thirsty we’re ready to be excited about almost anything as long as it’s HP), I need the Marauders at Hogwarts, to know how they met, how they all became friends, how they discovered Remus’ secret and how they become animagi. I need the Marauders after Hogwarts, living in the middle of a war, the Potters tracked down by Death Eaters. I need so much, and I’m never going to get anything more than what I already have, and that’s not fair !

2. Favourite movie ?

poamovieI just think it was really well done, compared to all the others. And I loved to see how the time-turner’s effect on screen was awesome. And of course, Remus and Sirius ! I have a friend whose favourite character is Sirius and she told me she was super excited before the movie came out because she would be seeing Sirius in the flesh, and she was just so disappointed when she saw Gary Oldman. Even at 20-something, she still wasn’t over it. She thought he was old and ugly, she told me all this very passionately, and it was just the funniest thing ever. I’ll also never be over the fact that they aged the Marauders’ generation. It’s part of the tragedy, the fact that their lives got so screwed when they were so young and were supposed to have their whole lives ahead of them.

3. Least favourite book ?

cos.

It’s not at all on purpose that I’m saying this now, because I hadn’t planned on making this post, but I commented on Tori’s post that maybe the reason this book is not really liked is because it’s just because it’s inbetween two really loved books, which makes this one pale a bit in comparison. Philosopher’s Stone is obviously our introduction to the wizarding world and Prisoner of Azkaban’s got time-travel !

.

.

.
4. Parts of the books/movies that made you cry ?

fredBasically everything at the end of Deathly Hallows. I was just so emotionally wrecked by this point that almost anything would have me bursting into tears. Fred’s death was the worst. I had to put the book because I was crying too much and I couldn’t see through my tears, I was just sitting there on my bed, crying my eyes out. And then, Remus and Tonks happened. And little Colin Creevey, it was like the last straw. I haven’t read it since that first time, by the way.

5. Favourite character ?
If my friend definitely had a crush on Sirius, for me it was Remus. My love.

.
6. What would your Patronus be?

A swallow. Because it’s a bird, a migratory bird, at that. Because it reminds me of my childhood. Because of a lot of things

.
7. If you could have the Resurrection Stone, the Invisibility Cloak, or the Elder Wand, which one would you choose?

.invisibility cloak
.
The Invisibility Cloak, of course. And I would totally use it for very important stuff. Definitely.

.

.

.

8.  What House would you be in?
hufflepuff

I had that big moment of panic before doing the Pottermore Sorting Quiz because what if Pottermore put me in Gryffindor ? Imagine the huge identity crisis ! But all turned out okay. It’s my favourite house since I’m a kid, mainly because it’s all about tolerance and acceptance and equality, and I could literally go on for days (it’s due to the fact that we Hufflepuffs have had to defend our house since forever !). Badger pride !

.
9. If you could meet any member of the cast, who would it be?
emmawatson

Who else ? She’s the kind of person that leaves me so confused : do I want to be her ? do I want to date her ? do I want to be her best friend in the whole world ? Who knows ?

10. If you were on the quidditch team, what position would you play?
quidditch

Team sports and me just don’t mix well together. It’s not for me.

.
11. Were you happy with the ending ?
allwaswell

It felt like a endless pit of blackness had taken over my soul. It got better with time.

Yes.  Although, I do wish more characters I really cared for had survived.
.
12. How much does Harry Potter mean to you?  
So much. And even if I’m much more critical of it now, I’m still so grateful for these books. They definitely shaped me as a person.

reddivider

What’s your experience with Harry Potter ?
One thought on “There won’t be a child in our world who doesn’t know his name

Leave a Reply

