TTT : The First Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

1_1

With exclusive, badly-taken pictures of my own books !

Hosted by : The Broke & The Bookish

Since this week’s theme for TTT would be a bit repetitive for me (all my last acquired books can be seen either on my last Book Batch post, or in the last reviews I’ve posted), I decided to give it a little twist and not talk about the last ten books I acquired, but the first ten books I ever read in English. The good old days … That was all back in my first year of college, when I remembered that reading could be something to do for fun and not just because my major required it. Quite the revelation, I know, and since I was always reading in French and really craving some English in my life, that seemed like a great idea.

I can’t say for sure that all of them were my first ten but they were all read that same first year.

IMG_20150713_181553

IMG_20150713_180301Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher : I remember this one because it was the very first. It was before Christmas break, and it also marked the first time I cried because of a book (suicide tw). This book just wrecked me  and basically the whole thing was such a new experience. I loved it.

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling : I bought all the books at once and rediscovered that universe in English. Now, I can only read them in English and I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve reread Philosopher’s Stone and Prisoner Of Azkaban (I’ve only read Deathly Hallows once, though).

.Sans titre 3

Dear John by Nicholas Sparks & The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks : I hate romance novels now but I did have a phase at some point. It was a necessary step, I think. I was only discovering contemporary novels, I liked a bit of romance, and I was looking for easy reads. I’m not ashamed, they’re just not for me anymore. Cried like a baby for The Last Song. That’s also when I discovered that I can’t deal with death, be it real or fictional.

IMG_20150713_182258

Looking  For Alaska by John Green, Paper Towns by John Green & Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green & David Levithan : Lots of YA. I wasn’t such a big fan of Looking For Alaska, at least, not as much as everyone seemed to be : I just couldn’t stand her, she was such a Manic Pixie Dream Girl, and I realize now that it’s probably because the whole thing is narrated by a guy who was obviously crushing quite hard on her. So, I should hate him. Weirdly, I loved Paper Towns, probably due to the whole road-trip thing, and I laughed so hard throughout the whole book when I read Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

IMG_20150713_182357

IMG_20150713_185316

.

.

.

.

.

.

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky : Bought in a big library the first time I went to Paris. I didn’t want to leave without a book, so I probably stayed 10 good minutes in front of the shelves, trying to make a decision. I’m really glad I got to have this edition.

The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins : I was lucky enough to read the three books in one go, I don’t think I would have had the patience to wait for the others to be published, so congrats to you if that were your case. I devoured them. There’s no other word for it. I became obsessed, and when I wasn’t reading, I was thinking about the story. During that time, I had a lot of dreams involving me shooting a bow …

IMG_20150713_182448.

Starter For Ten by David Nicholls : If Thirteen Reasons Why was the first book to make me cry, this one was the first to make me feel that much second-hand embarrassment. I had to put my book down every few pages because the main character is so ridiculous, but in a good way. You realize that whatever you’ve done in your life, at least you couldn’t be as embarrassing as Brian.

5 thoughts on “TTT : The First Ten Books That Came Into My Possession

  1. michellefabbookreviews says:

    Will Grayson Will Grayson and Looking for Alaska are the ones I have not yet read! Re: LfA, I think the manic pixie dream girl trope will irritate me to no end. Though I did quite like Paper Towns! Seeing Harry Potter on your list here makes me think I might need to carve out time for a reread in the near future. Rowling created such an amazing world!! Thanks so much for stopping by my TTT. 🙂

    Like

  2. Asti says:

    I was wondering how the heck you would know the first ten books that came into your possession, but I guess it makes sense since it happened much later in life that you started reading English books, haha. My first ten would include pictures books or something silly like that, and I definitely don’t still own those books to take pictures of!

    Some good books, of course! Definitely agree on Thirteen Reasons Why being quite the emotional read. And HP for the win, always! I’m actually currently “rereading” it via audiobooks and loving every minute of it. And ooh The Hunger Games. That’s actually another series I would like to reread since it’s been so long since I’ve read them. (And yes, I was one of those who had to wait for each book to be published. The pain!)

    Like

    • Marina | BookPoisoning says:

      LOL it definitely would have been picture books for me too, of course ! But yes, I was 18 by that point so it’s easier to remember. I’ve had a mighty need to reread The Hunger Games for weeks ! Maybe in the weeks leading up to Mockingjay Part 2 ? Maybe it’ll give me closure …

      Like

Leave a Reply

