TTT : Top Ten books I’ve read so far in 2015 (and 2014)

1_1

The one when I cheat a little bit.

Hosted by : The Broke & The Bookish

I’m very happy to participate, for the first time, to Top Ten Tuesday. The concept is that, every Tuesday, the lovely folks at The Broke & The Bookish will choose a topic and we have to establish a Top Ten around that topic. It’s fun, right ?

This will be a weekly feature here on Book Poisoning, so you can easily find all the TTT posts on the ‘Weekly Specials’ page !

My Top Ten this week will actually be a Top Five because, so far, it’s been a year of skinny cows (“une année de vaches maigres” — that’s what we say in France when the harvest or, more accurately, your economical income hasn’t been so good for the year), so let’s get going !

17370618

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

I really didn’t expect what would hit me when I decided to read The Raven Boys. I just knew that Tumblr was all crazy about these books, and since I’ve rarely been disappointed by Tumblr when it comes to books, I decided to follow the crowd. I really wasn’t prepared ! And then, I moved on to The Dream Thieves, and boy, it was everything I could have wanted ! Ronan is my absolute favourite so, of course, this book was a big surprise : it’s all about Ronan !! I’ve never felt so spoilt and it showed when I picked up BLLB, because the first thing I thought was “Not enough Ronan”. Lots of really awesome things happen in that one, and yeah, it’s my favourite in the series so far.

.

12067

Good Omens by Terry Pratchett & Neil Gaiman

This book has its cult and tribe of very devoted fans, and it makes me feel a little jealous because I only just read it very recently. I want to have a battered copy of this book, the spine cracked after so many rereadings, the pages yellow because of age. I feel like this book, any copy of this book, has to show that it has lived, and mine is all brand-new, which is a shame because how much will it take for me to completely wreck it ? Too long, that’s how much. The story is amazing and complex without you losing your footing while reading, it’s full of dark humour and the characters are perfectly flawed and realistic. I have no words.

.

.

12000020

.

.Aristotle and Dante discover the secrets of the universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

I’ve said it before, I’m not a big fan of romance, but when it’s done well, I’m the first on board. Of course, the romance isn’t everywhere, but it’s still a big part, because those two grow up and come to terms with their sexuality, and even though there are some painful moments, a good part made me happy. It’s the kind of book you can totally imagine adapted as a movie, and I sort of hope they will at some point.

 

 

afterworlds

 

 

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

The last two may feel like an easy way out, but I was just lucky enough to feature two really good books on my blog for my first online reviews. This story is both terribly haunting and fluffy as fuck. I really loved the duality, and I can’t praise this book enough. The only downside really was the size of my copy. It’s really huge and the edges were cutting into my palms a bit. But that’s it.

.

.

tumblr_nnryv6weug1uue5w9o1_400

..

.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

I think everyone should read this book. I don’t think everyone would love it, but honestly, that’s not the important thing. I feel like this is one of those books that stays with you for a long time after you’ve finished.

8 thoughts on “TTT : Top Ten books I’ve read so far in 2015 (and 2014)

    • Marina | bookpoisoning says:

      Lol thanks ! I’ve known about the Uglies series for ages but never picked up the books because I thought the synopsis sounded too romancy, and really, books, myself and romance don’t usually mix up well together, but since there was romance in Afterworlds and that I’ve loved it from beginning to end, I’m definitely more inclined to give Uglies a try.

      Like

Leave a Reply

