Unpopular opinions

boo

I’ve seen this on a few blogs, so I thought I might try my hand at it too.

Here’s my list, because sometimes, it feels good to be negative.

tmi1. A popular book or series that you didn’t like : The Mortal Instruments, by Cassandra Clare. The story seemed promising and, despite everything else, I still like the setting, and the urban-fantasy vibe, but the writing and characters completely ruined it for me. I haven’t actually finished the series and haven’t read the last book. I grew completely bored about half-way through the first book, but I had bought the first three in one go, so I thought it’d be best to continue, but boy, was it hard ! By the time I finished the first trilogy, I had grown fond of exactly four characters (while I couldn’t fucking stand all the others), and wanted to know what would happen to those four, so again, I continued, but the last book was released too late, and I waited too long after its release, and turns out I wasn’t motivated. I just read the summary for my four favourites on Wikia, and aren’t I just glad not to have read it ! It seemed like a big clusterfuck !

nightcircus

 

2. A book or series that everyone seems to hate but you love : The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern. I have seen so many bad reviews, I thought I was going to hate it, I even reconsidered reading it, and in the end, it just goes to show that you should always try to form an opinion of your own, because I absolutely loved it ! Not sure I would recommend it, because I understand what other people didn’t like about it, but I can just see myself rereading it from time to time.

 

3. A love triangle that didn’t end the way you wanted it to : Peeta/Katniss/Gale (from The Hunger Games series, by Suzanne Collins). I didn’t want her to end up with anyone, actually. I thought it would be for the best, she can get by just fine without marrying Peeta. I wanted him to love her in a different way, the way she needed, which is, you know, not a romantic love. I think she needed him after Prim’s death, but not as a love interest. Their bond kind of transcends that, anyway.

4. A book genre you hardly reach for : Pure romance novels. I’ve had my Nicholas Sparks phase, a very long time ago, or at least, that’s what it feels like. Now, I can’t even bear to think about it.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like : Jace Herondale (from The Mortal Instruments). I’m always coming back to TMI but I really didn’t like it, no word can express my disappointment, and the whole world needs to know that. I wanted to add Clary too, but I actually haven’t seen many positive opinions about her, so …

boymeetsboy

 

6. A popular author you just can’t seem to enjoy : David Levithan. I tried. I really did. And I kind of liked his part of the story in Will Grayson, Will Grayson, but the rest of his work is too romancy and sometimes downright stalkerish (i.e Every Day). At some point, you have to say stop, for your own sake.

 

 

7. A popular trope you’re tired of seing : Love triangles. STOP LOVE TRIANGLES 2K15 ! So sick and tired of this trope, if I even sniff it in the synopsis, I won’t even want to touch the book.

The_Selection_Cover

 

8. A popular series you have no interest in reading : The Selection, by Kiera Cass. It was recommended to me by a friend of mine who’s a fellow YA-lover (we both loved The Maze Runner, Delirium, Hunger Games, The Fault In Our Stars …), but after careful consideration I just went “Yeah, no thanks”.

 

9. A movie or TV show that was better than the book : Everyone answered The 100, and I get it, I think the show is really awesome too, but I haven’t read the book so I’d feel bad if I answered this. The show made me want to read the books though, but then again, the book itself didn’t make me want to read the book, and I moved on. So, I’m going to say that I think the TMI TV-show will, maybe, be better than the books ? It showed some promise because of the great cast and, you know, the story is good : there’s action, and magic, and supernatural creatures, and strong female characters. The thing that annoyed me to the point where I wanted to rip those books apart, is the constant inner monologues and lovey-dovey feel. I don’t know, I have hopes for the show.

300

Feel free to answer in the comments if you want to, or if you don’t have a book blog.
Leave a Reply

