I can’t read in public transports

subwayy

Every day I go to work/class and suffer through at least 30 minutes of public transports to get there. While I’m waiting, with my music blasting in my earphones, I often see fellow commuters with a book opened in their laps.

Essays. Crime novels. French classics. Books in English. Books in Spanigh. Adults reading Harry Potter. Or – god forbid – Fifty Shades of Grey. You see all sorts when you’re on the bus or the subway. People willing to spend their way to and from work catching up on their reading.

Well, I’m not one of them.

I really like the idea, though. I mean, day-to-day life can be very repetitive. Once the routine sets in, it’s often difficult to break from that. You work all day and have to do so many things once you’re home, cooking and chores. And then, there’s your social life to take care of : outtings with friends, a movie on the weekend, days to spend lazing out on the couch while watching Netflix-

What ? What do you mean this is not the definition of “social” ?

Productive people impress me

Anyway, the point is, I like the idea that, as your life can be pretty crowded with tons of things to do, you end up spending the most useless minutes of your day (transportation) doing something productive, that you wouldn’t have time for if not at this moment, like reading a book.

And you see them there, sitting and reading, or even – oh my god – standing very close to each other, gripping the pole with one hand and keeping their books open with the other.

I’m impressed, I really am, because a certain sense of grace and agility is necessary to do that, and I don’t think I’d be capable of such a feat, but hell, I don’t envy them !

Finding the right moment

I love to read, but I love to read when I want to read, and you could argue that someone like me should want to read all the time, but that’s not true. I do not want to read all the time.

I do not want to read when I’m surrounded by people on all sides, people who are silently sneaking glances above my shoulder and taking a peak at my book (although I’m a fucking hyprocrite because I’m so doing this too !).

I do not want to read when there’s noise and announcements all around me.

I do not want to read when I’m not in a comfortable environment, in a comfortable position, in a comfortable situation, with people’s elbows poking my sides or sneezing next to me.

I do not want to read when I know that I won’t be able to read for very long, and that, maybe, I’ll have to wait all day to know what happens after where I’ve left off.

It’s okay if other people do. I think it’s wonderful that other people do that despite everything else, but I’m not one of those people.

Resignation ?

I’ve lived in the city for almost 2 years now, and I don’t think I’ll ever get to a point where I’ll just say “Fuck it, I’m going to read anyway !”
Mainly because my unease comes from reasons that are truly valid and legitimate to me, and are not going to change anytime soon.

I’d much prefer sit on my couch, in a bed, with a cup of tea within arm’s reach, my TV playing softly in the background, with a good book in my hands.

reddivider

What do you think ? What’s your favourite thing to read in public transports ? Any interesting peaks ?
Leave a Reply

